Dark Waters — Free Firefighter Event

Participant Media and the Environmental Working Group are presenting a special virtual screening of “Dark Waters,” the film inspired by the true story of Rob Bilott, who took on a chemical manufacturing corporation in a lawsuit after it contaminated a town with the unregulated toxic “forever chemicals” known as PFAS.

Following the screening, we’ll hold a panel discussion about how firefighters are affected by PFAS contamination in their turnout gear — and how we can take action to stop it. The discussion will take place on Tuesday October 13th at 5:30pm ET. Folks can start watching the film on Friday October 9th.

Below are all the details:

  1. RSVP by Thursday, October 8
  2. RSVP HERE https://act.ewg.org/a/free-screening-dark-waters
  3. Link to view the film will be sent to everyone on Friday October 9th.
  4. Tuesday, October 13 — Facebook Live panel discussion at 5:30 ET p.m. (2:30 PT).

“Dark Waters,” starring Mark Ruffalo, Tim Robbins, and Anne Hathaway, uncovers the reality that many communities face when their town becomes a dumping ground for toxic chemical contamination. Firefighters across the country are being needlessly exposed to toxic chemicals through their turnout gear and fire-fighting foam.

This film reaffirms concerns about toxic chemicals like PFAS and their effects — multiple health problems, including impaired immune systems, fertility problems and multiple types of cancer.

Join us as we take a closer look at this crisis, find out how it affects the health of firefighters and their families across the country, and discuss how we can address this problem.

What: Join us for this virtual screening of “Dark Waters,” plus online panel discussion with Q&A.

When: Watch the film before 5 p.m. ET (2 p.m. PT) on Tuesday, October 13, then join us for a Facebook Live panel discussion at 5:30 ET p.m. (2:30 PT) on October 13. HERE

Where: The comfort of your own home. A unique link will be sent to you, allowing you to watch the documentary on your own time. Then join a Facebook Live Discussion on Tuesday, October 13, at 5:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. PT).

Panel: Panelists include Rep. Dan Kildee (D-Mich.), who has helped lead congressional efforts to regulate PFAS; Graham Peaslee, the researcher who brought to light the levels of PFAS in firefighter turnout gear; and protective equipment expert Jeff Knobbe. The panel discussion will include time for questions.

September 5, 2017. Attorney Bilott sends 195 page letter to EPA, CDC/ATSDR, US Attorney General (then) Jeff Sessions. He, along with Fire Chief Jeffrey Hermes, and C8 Science Panel member Dr Paul Brooks, are demanding ‘PFAS testing and studies for first responders’ due to your occupational exposure of AFFF and PPE.

https://www.documentcloud.org/documents/3988104-Firefighter-Letter.html

A very private individual who fell into a very public rabbit hole of epic proportions. I’ve learned the chemical industry , DuPont 3M, own the fire service.